Enjoy your own company.😊

People always tend to feel the urge on having a company all the time. They feel awkward if they go out alone in public. They feel they are being judged on being alone in a public place.

But let me tell you, it is very important to enjoy your own company. We cannot always have our family and friends with us on the go. In fact this is secondary, the primary reason is we need to go out with oneself to discover ourselves, to think about life and the ups and downs of life.

So here our my 5 ways in which you can enjoy your own company.

1) Get rid of misconceptions.

Like I said before we are fed with misconceptions all our life, like who goes out alone, who watches a movie alone, who eats food alone. Get rid of such misconceptions. We can do every other fucking thing alone. We can take ourselves on movie dates or on food dates or even on shopping. We don’t always need a person to do that for us or to be with us.

2) Find what you “like”.

Your likes can be anything from sitting in a cafe and reading or writing or staring and observing people and things around or drawing or sketching or talking to new people or playing with kids or stray animals or visiting an orphanage or old age home or watching a movie or going on shopping or even meditating. But first to find what you like you need to step out and explore yourself and discover what you like to do to keep yourself happy. By doing this you get yourself validated for not being judged.

3) Read and Write.

Most of the people out there find reading and writing as the most boring and outdated things to do.

But this thing is really my thing. I love reading and writing. I have read every other Indian and foreign author and I write whatever I feel and whatever I observe. (Not being very subjective)

Most of us will prefer watching a 3hr movie based on a novel rather than reading it. But this is definitely not my thing.

When I read a book I am open to my imaginations. Whereas watching a movie would be like a specific platter of the book served to me.

Therefore at least once in your life try reading it is almost like meditation to me. And to talk about writing begin with your day to day things and go ahead with your imaginations and observations of life.

4) Put down “technology” for a while.

By this I mean give everyday 30mins of your life to yourself. Our generation is always on the go. We are always on our cellphones, on our iPods, laptops, with our earphones. And with all these we are loosing our human connection and affection. We no more remember birth dates because there is Facebook to remind us of that. We no more sit down for a while and talk to our parents, siblings, spouses, friends.

So everyday just take out 30mins of your life and explore the world and explore yourself. Talk to your parents, siblings, spouses about how their day was about what is going on in their life in their work. Read something, write something or even draw something, but just put down technology for a while.

5) Give it a “try”

Most of you’ll won’t even come to the last point of this blog. But for those who are here, give it a try. Enjoy your own company, go out with yourself just for a coffee or a movie, buy a new book and start reading or buy a new notebook and start writing.

All I wanna say is “Give it a try”. 😉

One thought on “Enjoy your own company.😊

Leave a comment